Since I've changed the format of The Fat Kid Chronicles people
have either been writing me, or calling me, or coming up to me and saying,
"Hey I read the blog and I have a couple of ideas for you." Let me
tell you something, that is wonderful thing. I want dialogue to come from
this. Some folks will come and offer advice. People have offered to train
me. I've gotten recommendations on new fitness apps and all
kinds of new healthy foods to try. All great stuff.
Have you guys ever seen the movie, Angus?
I've seen most of it on TBS at one point or another. I remember wanting to see
it because James Van Der Beek was in it and I was a big Dawson's Creek fan in
high school. (Yeah, I know what I said. The Creek, seen every episode of that
shit. Big deal, wanna fight about it?) Anyway, Angus. There's this line I remember from
the flick. I couldn't find the exact quote on IMDB so I'm paraphrasing here,
but the lines go something like this.
The
girl Angus likes, this cheerleader, is having a bit of a breakdown at the end
of the movie and confesses a secret to Angus. She looks at him at one point and
says, "I'm bulimic. Do you know what that is?" Angus responds,
"Of course I know what that is. I'm a Fat Kid!"
I
don't consider myself an expert on anything...okay, maybe Dawson's Creek.
Seriously though, I’m certain that over the course of my journey toward a
leaner me I'll learn a great deal about health and nutrition that I didn’t know
before. However, being that I too am an Angus style big dude, which after typing that I realize sounds like the next burger creation coming from
McDonald's this fall, I too know quite a bit about fitness and nutrition. I've
been educating myself about it since I was in junior high. I sadly just decided
to not apply any of it...until now.
Let's
talk about a battle plan. Let's talk about how exactly I plan to make this
work. Now I know that once I list some of the ways I’m going to approach this,
some of you will say, "No Mergs, that's not right." That's okay! I
invite you to disagree. If you think you have a better idea, let's hear it. I
also know that some of these ideas may not seem like enough. Some of them don't
seem like enough to me, but remember that the point of
this approach is starting small and then building on those successes.
Like my man Kevin Smith says, "You gotta do the little goals too.
Sometimes you just gotta lay the bar down and step over it, so you can feel
accomplished.” Okay, here we go.
The Food
Someone told me once that nutrition holds roughly 90% of the keys to weight
loss. I agree.
First, let's create a caloric deficit. Some folks will say that you
shouldn't count calories. I disagree. I think it's a must especially in the
beginning. I've spoken to nutritionists, I've plugged my stats into a new app
that I'll talk about in a moment, I've read up. I can take in 2400
calories a day, and stay the same weight. That's what it takes to run my body
for one day. We all know that in order to lose weight we must take in fewer
calories than we burn. So, I'm looking to take in just under 2000. Even without
exercising, that number should technically be low enough that I would drop a
pound or two a week. I'm hoping that with the workouts it'll be two to three
pounds per week. That's the neighborhood I want to live in.
There's an app for the iPhone called, "Lose It!" I's essentially a
fancy food journal. It allows you to keep track of caloric intake as well as
carbs, protein, sodium, and so on. It's super easy to use and I'm giving
it a FKC endorsement. (I think it’s tragic and hilarious that
the abbreviation for my blog is the jumbled version of KFC.) I'll record all I take in on
the app. Along with that, okay deep breath; I
will list my caloric intake right here, every day. The letters CI/The Date/The
Number, will be listed every day, starting today.
Now,
let's make those calories count. I'm going to allow myself just about anything
so long as it doesn't put me over that limit. There are two terrible key things
that I've gotten rid of in the past week. Soda, including diet soda, and fast
food. For some reason those two monsters have crept back into my life over
these last few months and the extra calories I've taken in from them are
ridiculous. Neither of the two provides any nutritional value and I've felt
quite good about ditching them.
I'm
also going to try to drastically reduce sweets and any refined sugars, white
flours, and starchy carbs like my friend the potato. I'm also going to cut
down, but not cut out, dairy. Let's now up the intake of vegetables,
fruit, and lean protein. Breads, pasta, and rice should be brown whenever
eaten. Coffee, tea, and club soda will be my drinks of choice. Also, water.
Lots and lots of water.
The
booze...I mean, why does everything awesome in life have to be bad for you? I'm
going to keep it to one day a week and be much more sensible about it. It too
will be recorded. The truth is, booze is just horrible for you. There are no
health benefits other than the one glass of red wine a day thing. It's just
empty calories that fuck up your metabolism and pack on the pounds. It has to
be closely monitored if weight loss is going to happen. So, I'll still see my
friends Mr. Daniels and Mr. Jameson, just not as much.
Also,
let’s break the meals up. Six small meals a day is annoying and
not convenient for me personally. Four meals a day works better.
Also, I go to bed around 2:00AM every day. That being the case, let's make the
last meal of the day happen no later than 9:00PM.
So, that’s where I’m starting with the food part of things. Like I
said feedback is welcome. As far as the exercise portion of the show, I’ll have
to wait until tomorrow to tell you about that. Right now I gotta run. I want to
hit the gym before work.
Enjoy your Saturday gang.
No comments:
Post a Comment